The President’s Cabinet is comprised of senior institutional leaders who represent all aspects of the university. The Cabinet provides advice and counsel to the president on all strategic and operational matters.


Cabinet composition

Bruce Harreld – President

  • Gary Barta (Athletic Director)
  • Sue Curry (Interim Executive Vice President and Provost)
  • Lena Hill (Interim Chief Diversity Officer and Associate Vice President, Senior Associate to the President, Associate Professor of English and African American Studies) 
  • J. Brooks Jackson (Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the Carver College of Medicine)
  • Terry Johnson (Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer)
  • John Keller (Interim Vice President for Research and Economic Development)
  • Rod Lehnertz (Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations)
  • Lynette Marshall (UI Foundation, CEO)
  • Peter Matthes (Senior Advisor to the President and Vice President for External Relations)
  • Laura McLeran (Senior Advisor to the President and Associate Vice President for External Relations)
  • Carroll Reasoner (Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel)
  • Melissa Shivers (Vice President for Student Life)